Am I Losing my Mind?

Maybe I am just getting to that age now, but it seems that all around me are people moving into or through the process of Alzheimer’s or dementia of some type. It can be scary when they are family members, because it makes the rest of us wonder, whenever we forget something important, if we are next.

I read a couple interesting articles recently and wanted to pass them on. The first one was in the New York Times last weekend, actually a letter to the editor, where a neurologist said “If you are looking for early signs of dementia, ask the family, not the patient.” He says that the patient is not a good judge of their symptoms. I have observed that often the person who really is having trouble with dementia-like symptoms is not as worried about it as the people around them. And when a person is constantly freaked out about whether or not they have alzheimer’s, it may be a sign that they don’t. Not a medical opinion, just an observation.

1002231The other article is entitled “Top 7 Physical Alzheimer”s Symptoms” and it is worth reading. The 7 symptoms are: difficulty with familiar tasks, repetitive behaviors, taking shorter steps and decreased fine motor skills, getting lost and wandering, increase in daytime napping, insomnia and poor grooming, hygiene and dressing habits. You can read the entire article here.

Getting back to our series on the elderly and scams, in my next post I will give you some ideas on when and how to talk to your parents about their finances.

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

