One of Those Days

Just so you know that things don’t always go well when you are starting a business…this evening has been one mess-up after another!

It started with an order for some monogrammed Sleepy Sleeves. No problem. Pull out my machine that does the monogramming, whip out the two Sleeves. Start packing the box. Oh no! I switched the names–the Small Sleeve had the name that was supposed to go on the M/L Sleeve. So how can I fix this? I tried to take the monogramming out, but it is so tightly stitched it can’t be done without damaging the fleece. So I decide to bring the label from the other side over and cover the old monogram then put the right name where the old label used to be. Perfect! It worked great with one Sleeve but I noticed as I was beginning to monogram the second one, a flaw in the construction of the Sleeve that I hadn’t noticed before. Great. Go get another one.

Prep, monogram, trim…Oh no, not again. There is a spot on the fabric–and a piece of tape from the manufacturer so I would know it was there–but why is it in the box with the regulars? I tried some spot remover that has worked on some of the Sleeves, but the spot is not coming out. OK. Again.

Grab another Sleeve, prep, monogram…I noticed on the last letter that the machine sounded different and slowed down. What is that all about? As I pulled it out from under the machine foot, I discovered that a section of the cuff had been doubled over and got caught up and sewed into the monogram, which meant that not only would I have to start over, but I couldn’t even cut it apart without damaging it!

Attempt #4: Back up to get the fourth Sleeve, and finally we have a winner! No stains, no defects, whew! Quick, get it in the box before something else happens to it.

I think I need to go to bed…

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, This-n-that, You're Getting Warmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One of Those Days

  1. Tina says:

    Mom said there would be days like this!!

Leave a Reply

