Drinking from a firehose

The first year of being a full-time entrepreneur was spent fighting to get the information I needed. I think I probably wore Google out, looking for tidbits and clues to the answers I sought. That was then.

NOW, I feel like I am drinking from a firehose! I discovered www.savorthesuccess.com, where entrepreneurial women from all over come to ask questions, answer questions, support and encourage in all manner of businesses, ongoing and startups. There is so much support and so many resources that I never even knew existed! Have a question? Post it in one of the cafe’s and you will get an answer from (usually) several women who have been there and figured it out. Need a resource? Need a coach? Need a professional writer? Whatever you need, you can either find it there or find someone who can help you find it. I have been blown away! (Example: Sarah Shaw has taught me more about moving from idea to retail than I ever thought possible. In this blog post she talks about the advantages of bootstrapping–starting a business from scratch. Her blog and her phone seminars are amazing. http://theentreprenettegazette.com/2011/11/17/bootstrap-or-bust/)

The biggest problem has been information overload. I have been in on 10-12 teleseminars, gone to NYC for a selling training event, spent dozens of hours reading and processing, and sometimes it is overwhelming. But in a welcome sort of way.

Fear is a big problem in starting a new business, but sometimes the fear is just a result of lack of knowledge. And that kind of fear can be solved by information. Knowing what to do and how to do it gives a sense of freedom and triumph! And then there is the fear that comes from self-doubt and internal messages–something different altogether. That can take a little longer…

So that is what I have been up to. I am currently trying to figure out what company to use to keep track of my customers/potential customers, starting with the hospital gift shops. And whether to switch to Google Mail from my current Yahoo account. It is frustrating that you have to make a decision before you really know how it will play out…but I guess that is like life. We don’t totally know how any of our choices will play out before we make them.

So what in your life would you like to change? What resources do you need to do it? Resources are out there, and sometimes you just have to ask the right person or click the right link to find them. Don’t hesitate to ask–life is short. Live it!

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, You're Getting Warmer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

