Just Call Me Caesar

If you could describe yourself in three words or less, what would they be? Just one word?

One of mine would be “Tenderhearted”. When I was 4 or 5, I cried and cried at Ice Capades when the clown kept falling and everyone kept laughing at him. I hate to see someone humiliated or left out.

But the one that would have to be “the one” is not even a word, according to dictionary.com. I am a “Siezer”. (pronounced like…you got it…Caeser) I have a gift of recognizing opportunities and doors that are open even just a crack, and making something more out of them. In business, friendships, learning opportunities, whatever.

I start out to upholster a friend’s sofa and end up owning a thriving upholstery shop in a wealthy suburb of Chicago.

I read an article in Mother Earth News about a guy with a nursery in his backyard and ended up with 10,000 rooted cuttings and a propagating nursery.

Some would call them lucky breaks. Or chance. But I have been blessed with people and opportunities that many wish for, and looking back, I see that sometimes the difference between success and not success (see, I am too tenderhearted to write the word “failure”, because no one should have to feel like a failure :-)) is diving through a small opening–taking a calculated risk. Knowing that it could fail and doing it anyway. The older I get the more I see how rare that is. So many won’t take those kinds of risks.

Part of the reason I can is that I have self-confidence in areas that most people have self-doubt. And self-doubt where most people have self-confidence. Which I have viewed as a curse for much of my life, but am realizing now it might not be a curse.

Cody and I after tackling a particularly greasy job on his car

Maybe this is a trait I share with all entrepreneurial types–this “seizing” thing. If you have it, use it! If you don’t, find what you do have and use that. Life is too short to spend it doing something you hate or that you are not really good at.

So how would you describe yourself in three words or less?

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How I see it, This-n-that and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

