Just Call Me Alice

Woke up before 4 and couldn’t go back to sleep so I decided to get up and do some research on marketing that I started yesterday morning. By the time I finished, I felt like I had been down several rabbit holes and decided to describe the journey for you. This is how it went…

Marketing is probably the least favorite hat I wear in this business. I had been trying to figure out if I should spend $500 to exhibit at a Fearless Caregiver Conference in New Haven, CT in 4 weeks (http://caregiver.com/fearlessconference/conferences/index.htm) or take that money and spend it on some coaching from an entrepreneurial expert such as (http://asksarahshaw.com/entreprenette-options).

I use the word “expert” loosely, because it seems that anyone can call themselves an expert nowdays. Build a snazzy web site and write a glowing report of yourself and you are an expert! Sarah Shaw certainly qualifies, as her experience in starting a successful business is documented, and I have no doubt she could move my business along very quickly if I hired her.

A story with a link on that web site led me to www.savorthesucces.com, which bills itself as “The premium business network for women entrepreneurs”. I didn’t spend a long time there, but I did a search on the difference between that site and www.ladieswholaunch.com which I have been aware of for awhile. That brought me to this blog post– http://strategicmktgconcepts.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/9-powerful-social-networking-sites-for-women-entrepreneurs/ which listed a bunch of other similar sites that were new to me. So I browsed some of them as well, trying to see what was free and what was not.

This one, www.womanowned.com –Business networks for women, caught my eye. The rabbit hole branched and I clicked on the “Growing” tab, scrolled down to “Promoting your Business” and “The Crazy Game of MetaTags” jumped out at me. When I developed my website, I read that I needed to put in “metadata tags” which would help push my site closer to the top in internet searches. Everything I read about it was so technical and complicated that I just gave up. But this title made me think it might be more simple. (See how marketing works?)

The article was really helpful and pointed me to the site www.scrubtheweb.com that would analyze my current meta tags for free. I came out with a 33 out of 100–not bad for not even putting anything in there in the first place–but could be improved. But first I researched that site to find out a little about it…age, track record, negative feedback, etc. It seemed legit, so I started using it to build code I could insert on each page of my site. I had to do some searches on where to put it because the program I use is not one of the common ones. But before I could finish that….

I somersaulted off to the right at another fork, checked my business email and found notice that my domain name registrations are coming up for renewal. Which reminded me that I had changed the name of the third sleeve model earlier this year from “travel sleeve” to “summer sleeve” so didn’t want to hold on to the domain name travelsleeve.com. So I went to www.dreamhost.com and canceled it. While there, I took a left and remembered that my son Ryan had told me that I should be able to set it up so that all my other domains (sleepysleeves.com, bookwormsleeves.com, yourgettingwarmer.com and eventually summersleeves.com) would automatically take people to my main domain at  www.youregettingwarmer.com.

So I poked around until I figured that out, then decided that I was freezing and needed to go back to bed. Two hours had elapsed, and I was not much closer to figuring out how to spend my mythical advertising budget and the website is still a sorry 33 on the metadata scoring, but if you enter www.sleepysleeves.com, you will arrive at my website! Mission accomplished–sortof.

I’m going to need a nap today…

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, You're Getting Warmer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

