No excuses…

Progress update:

One thousand sleepy sleeves in 4 color combinations: check. (brought in by rental truck and stacked in the garage and in the boys rooms)

Fifteen thousand tri-fold brochures–five thousand each of three designs: check. (on the shelves in Cody’s room)

Taxes done: check. (in the mail)

Business cards in hand: check

So why am I so nervous?

I gotta be honest, marketing is scaring me silly. It is my weakest area. I can plan, design, sew, manage the finances, but Twitter, Facebook and other social network marketing, even blogging, is very scary to me. I read articles that use terms that I don’t understand, and the idea of even taking the time to learn it is overwhelming. Paying someone to do it is not an option at this point, so whatever ends up getting done is up to me.

I have been following with interest TV shows like “America’s Next Great Restaurant”, even “Celebrity apprentice”, watching people being put in situations that are new and challenging, having to make decisions with very little information to go on, learning (or failing) on the fly. “Shark Tank” has been very informative, seeing people throw life savings of thousands to millions on an idea that they believe in, only to learn that passion is not necessarily enough. It is easy to look at their ideas and plans and pick out the flaws and see where they went off track, then I end up wondering what I am not seeing.

Sleepy Sleeve brochure

So self-doubt is alive and well here. The response I get when people in the medical field see the sleeves is overwhelmingly positive, so I don’t really question the product, just my ability to move it from idea to reality. My determination remains intact, and I have the additional motivation of having borrowed (from family) and spent a sizeable amount in fabric, sleeve manufacture, brochure printing and shipping, but I find myself frozen, struggling to take the next step(s), or even knowing what they are.

Just being honest…  🙂

I’ve done hard things before, and I am sure this will not be the last. I guess if it was easy, everyone would be doing it, right?

I will keep you posted…

PS, not asking for sympathy or re-assurance. Just reporting on my journey…

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No excuses…

  1. Connie says:

    I’m so glad the blog is back! We need to connect. I have a short week this week. (we get out at one today). Want to go for a walk tomorrow morning?

Leave a Reply

