Resolution…of sorts

You are probably wondering what happened with the business cards…

I received one more note from the unknown person who was just doing his/her job but was the object of my frustration/anger, stating that this was a “trapping issue. Please note that it is trapped within your files therefore you cannot see the words unless it is printed”… (??!!??) In other words, it wouldn’t show up on their design program, only on the “digital proof”. Their “digital proofs” are tiny (smaller than a real business card) with bad resolution (you couldn’t read most of it) and with watermarks on them, and the shadow words were there but looked like part of the resolution issues to me. So technically it was “my fault”, but I still say that for them to put a design program out there that traps words that cannot be seen on the program, then use a tiny proof that can’t be read is bad business.

He/she told me where to go to see it, and though I probably would have caught it if I had been experienced in graphic design, there was no way I would have known it given my experience level.  So they declined to reprint them, but would give me a discount of $9 on my next order or refund the printing costs but not shipping either way, I affirmed that I wished to take my business elsewhere and I am sending the cards back.

They are probably big enough that my less than $50 business card order is not a loss to them, but I can tell you that if their response would have been different, I would have been a very loyal customer. I am ordering brochures from a different company this week, spending nearly $1000.

And I am taking notes. When a company goes even a little bit out of their way to make things right, it builds up good will. Seems elementary, I know. But it is easy to forget it. And I know, you can’t make everyone happy–been there–in my other businesses. But you can at least give it a shot!

So ends my maiden adventure with GotPrint dot com. May my next attempt be more satisfying to both sides.

sleevemom–who is inexperienced but learning like crazy!

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

