The difference between inconvenienced and angry

Canned responses when they don’t address the issue make me really frustrated. I was frustrated with the first response. The second one made me angry–something I don’t do very often. And I am waiting for the third response.

I will not tell you the name of the company yet, maybe they will still do the right thing. I hope.

This is the story. Are you ready? 

“THE SAGA OF THE INVISIBLE TEXT”

(key the happy music)

It all began one sunny day when I set out to get some business cards printed. The birds were singing, the world was a happy place, and I found a company online that promised great service for a good price. (music stops)…..and before you tell me I shouldn’t be dealing with an online company, remember, I AM an online company. This is not the discussion for this post…  🙂   (music starts up again)

They EVEN had a design program onsite so you could design your card and submit it with a mere click of the mouse. And since I am not good with reformatting PDF’s and EMT’s and QVC’s, I thought “what could be better? How could I mess this up?”

So I designed my card with the help of some very talented people, checked the wording, the spelling, the font, every detail, had Mike check it. Then  after reading the ominous warning phrases (I have checked this over and it is accurate and I will not hold the printer responsible for any mistakes I have made, etc, etc, etc) I slowly hit “ENTER” to send it off to printerland.

I was excited! I couldn’t wait! And when they arrived and I pulled one out, I was first puzzled then stunned to see (music changes) words that I didn’t put on there, ON THERE!

Here is a photo

Do you see them? It is as if someone took a rubber stamp and stamped the word “Text” here and there all over the left side of the card.

I grabbed the phone and called the company. He pulled up the file and said, “those words are on the file that I have here. It looks like they are opened text boxes. You will have to create a “problem message” online on your account. So I did. Here is what I said:

“My business cards arrived today–great turnaround time! But there are extra words covering the left end of the card, front side. It is as if someone stamped the word “Text” about 5 times on the card. I have looked at the original I sent and those words do not show up. What can be done about it? Thanks
Linda McCabe”

This was the response I got

“Hello,
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Please be advised that we can only print what was provided to us by our customers, and based on the files this order is matching.
If you wish to update your files we can provide you with a discount code. Please let us know how you would like to proceed by creating a new problem message under this order.
Once again we apologize if this issue is causing you any inconvenience.
If you have any further questions, please log into your account, click on the order status and create a new problem email.
Thank you,
Quality Control”

So I responded back…

“So you are saying that those words show up on your copy of my design?
I used your design tools to lay out the card, and those “Text” words did NOT appear on my page. I have checked several times since and they are still not there. If for some reason, they are showing up on your end, there is a problem with your program and I do not see why I should be made to pay for it. If those words had been there when I proofed the card, I certainly wouldn’t have hit “Send”.”

This was the reply

“Hello,
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Please be advised that we have checked your files from your account and the word text does appear in the files. Also note that if we reprint this order it is going to come out the same way. We can provide you with a discount code and you can place a new order with new design, again if we reprint this order it will come out the same.
If you wish to update your files we can provide you with a discount code. Please let us know how you would like to proceed by creating a new problem message under this order.
Once again we apologize if this issue is causing you any inconvenience.
Thank you,
Quality Control”

I am not “inconvenienced”. By this time I am angry. So this is what I sent back.

“I am not asking you to reprint these cards. Obviously, those words are in the file. You see them, the printer sees them, my question is, why are they not visible to ME, the customer, who approved the order based on what was visible to ME. When I log in, yes clicking on “Saved Designs”, they STILL are not visible to ME, however visible they are to you. And they were also not visible to a friend when she logged on using a different computer in a different city. Can you just answer that question without all the canned phrases and apologies?
I am not an unreasonable person. But your dismissive, repetitive responses give me the feeling that you believe I am lying about this and just trying to make someone else pay for a mistake I made, which I can assure you is not the case.”

Deep breath…

I am also going to tell them, when I call them today, so I can talk to a real person, hopefully someone further up the ladder, that I was planning to order 3 brochures from them next week, spending nearly $700 with their company, but I don’t see it happening now.

So, no. I have not been inconvenienced.

Thanks for listening….I feel better now…

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The difference between inconvenienced and angry

  1. Connie says:

    No way!!! I am so sorry. What a rip! Keep us posted…

Leave a Reply

