Like hot glue…

Talking with a friend a couple days ago about how she and I tend to procrastinate. When we have a seminar or retreat or class we are preparing for, we usually think and plan but don’t sit down to get it down on paper until just days or even hours before the event. I have tried doing it sooner and I just can’t seem to organize my thoughts.

I have spent a lot of time through the years beating up on myself for not being different than I am. More organized, mostly. And focusing on my weaknesses, sometimes to the neglect of my strengths. I finally asked myself, “Why do I think that I should have all the strengths that I see in others,but I don’t seem to think less of them if they can’t do some of the things that are easy for me?”

So I said to my friend, “Don’t worry about it–you always wait this long and it is always fabulous! You and I are like hot glue guns. The glue can be sitting there but until you get some heat around it and some pressure behind it, nothing’s going to happen!”

Come to think of it, heat and pressure produce diamonds too. Maybe we aren’t in such bad company after all!

Go make some diamonds…

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Like hot glue…

  1. Richie says:

    I’m a charter member of the procrastinators guild but never got around to joining.

    An Arkies Musings

Leave a Reply

