Three strikes–still waiting

Where was I? Oh yes, I was waxing eloquent on how I love modern technology…   🙂

So after spending $$ on laptops through the years when laptops were a months salary or more, I was surprised when Mike said he could get me one for less than $500. He knows by now that I don’t require the biggest, latest, fastest, newest and prettiest. Just get me something that does what I need it to do, without all the bells and whistles. So it was like Christmas for him–just researching and comparing gadgets will excite him every time.

So in due time my Toshiba laptop arrived at our house, and I proceeded to ignore it for a week or two. But then the trip to TN/AR came along and I began to make its acquaintance. Within days after getting back from TN, my HP desktop bit the dust, and was I ever glad I had the laptop! I had loaded my webdesign programs already and so I didn’t really miss a beat. I even remember telling Mike that I really liked having a laptop, contrary to my original belief.

Until this weekend. I figured I had picked up a virus. The blue screen of death began popping up, an error message with ominous working flashed, and soon it would not even boot up. I called me computer wizard friend Josh, and even now, he is doing CPR and running MRI’s and whatever else he does to try and save it. His first diagnosis was…drum roll…maybe another mother board! But he is not sure now. I am waiting for a call from him as I type. . .(added later…it ended up being about 3 kinds of viruses that slipped past Norton, he didn’t have to wipe it clean but almost. I have it back now.)

As I type on…a MacBook that Mike used to use but he outgrew it. So not only am I having to switch from XP to Windows 7, now the close button is in the wrong corner, all the features are different, the keyboard is yet again, different—the Alt key is in a different place, etc. And worst of all, I can’t access my website to change things that need changed. (So if you wanted to order a Sleeve in the elephant print, don’t. I am out of that fabric, but can’t get on to delete it)

I hear that keeping your brain off balance by learning new things is the way to slow the aging process. I have not only slowed it, I am getting younger by the day.

Anyone seen my pacifier?

I’m going to bed now, before I mess up any other devices.

sleevemom, who feels more out than charmed…

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, This-n-that. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three strikes–still waiting

  1. Mother says:

    Oh Linda….this is your proud mom speaking. I know…you don’t want me to keep saying the same things about how proud I am of your talent. So, I won’t say it. I’ll just say—well, what can I say that wouldn’t embarrass you? ok. I’ll just say some generic thing like “Boy, Linda, you sure took after your mom!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

