Three strikes…

I have heard “three strikes, you’re out” and I have also heard that the third time is a charm. I guess we will know soon.

A few weeks ago, the motherboard died on my HP desktop. It was soon after I started this blog. It was less than 4 years old, but had a design flaw that made it run hot and shortened its life. Just before it died, my husband talked me into a laptop, so I could keep up with my blog and website even when on the road.

That one sentence cannot begin to describe to you what a victory that was for him. I am not a techie or a gadget person like he is. When he saw the first handheld PDA, he fell in love. And once he got one, he had to have the next one because it had better features, etc. Getting a new computer, phone, or software program is exciting to him. (And with two sons in college, it doesn’t happen as often as he would like, I am sure!) Our first act of financial insanity came in our second year of marriage. We took out a loan to buy one of the first Macintosh computers, primitive by today’s standards, state of the art in it’s day. (Sorry, Dave Ramsey, we paid our “stupid tax” as you call it, and we learned. Haven’t done anything like that since)

To me, on the other hand, a gadget that I have to try and figure out is an unnecessary distraction in my already too-complicated life. Back in about ’03, he got a free PDA in a purchase he made, and gave it to me, since he already had his. It took me nearly a year to begin using it. But once I figured it out and began using it, I loved it and carried it everywhere and my whole life was documented/organized/recorded/scheduled on it. Five years later, I was still using the same one, and he was on his 4th or so new one. I used that same Handspring until it literally ran out of memory, then figured out how to dump some onto my desktop and kept going. I even bought an identical one on ebay for about $10 so if it ever died I would have a spare. (If you read about my shoe business idea, this will not be a surprise to you) I did not move on until I was forced to. My then-new HP desktop four years ago would not play well with the software for my PDA. (I hate changing operating systems!) I grieved for a week…

But I digress…

So for me, the word “new” doesn’t carry excitement and expectation. It resounds with dread and carries with it memories of hours of hassle and frustration. And though he has had laptops for years, I have resisted. (No surprise from the girl who said “Why would anyone want to purchase online when you can just go to the store and get it?”) For one, I learned to type on a non-electric Royal, one of those big, tall, heavy typewriters that you had to wrestle each key into submission, and I tend to type with a heavy hand. Those flat little keyboards just didn’t do it for me. The satisfaction of actually pushing the keys down is so minimal on a laptop. It is more like touching than typing. Add to that the fact that getting something “new” includes spending $$, which I also don’t enjoy, (from the girl who resisted buying a CD player, because she knew that once you had the player, then you had to spend $$ on the CD’s and we already had so many cassettes!) and it was always enough to make me run screaming–well almost….not really….I’m not a screamer (ask my husband) but if I was, it would make me do it.

So for me to have my own laptop, in addition to my then-trusty HP desktop seemed extravagant and unnecessary. Until the website came along. And the need to tweak it on the road. So now I had a reason. . .and Mike saw the chink in my armor and went for the kill!

So since this post has gone on way longer than intended and I am nowhere near finished with my story yet, I will let you come back to finish it later. And leave you with Ali and Sarah, reminding you why I started all this in the first place…as a way to document my new business. So check it out if you get a chance. We are still taking orders for Christmas! Remember, “Friends don’t let friends shiver!”

http://www.youregettingwarmer.com

Aly and Sarah

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Three strikes…

  1. Connie says:

    So, Paul Harvey, when do we get the rest of the story?

  2. Richie says:

    Gina loves her laptop, but I don’t like using one. I like the portability, but I cant get used to not having a mouse. I need to set it up on a table with a portable mouse to be happy

    An Arkies Musings

Leave a Reply

