What did we do before computers?

I am having a great time with a new toy–er tool. I had decided to put a hit counter on my website, and after a bit of research, came up with this one, called Stat Counter. If you ever want to find out how many people have visited your web site, I highly recommend this one. Not only is it free, and not only does it tell me how many people visited, but how they got there–what link they followed, how long they stayed, what pages they visited, their town of origin, etc, etc. So cool to see the various chart, graphs and figures. For example: as of 9:30 PM on Wed, we already had one more visitor than we had all day on Tues. Oops, there is #63 now… But notice, there are far fewer pages visited for the same amount of visitors, which is not good. They came, but they didn’t look around. Monday was the day I installed the counter, so it was not a full day. Returning visitors are good, the two I had. Because it shows they have come back for another look. They liked what they saw.

This chart tells me how long they stayed.

Well, kind of. The green is less than 5 seconds; blue, 5-30 seconds; beige is 30 seconds to 5 minutes; light brown is 5-20 minutes, red is 20-60 min, yellow is over 60 minutes. (At least one of those didn’t count, because they left it up on their screen all night, so they “looked” at my site for over 8 hours  🙂

So the challenge is to turn the green ones into blue or beige. Many of those are clicking on some facebook ads I have going right now. Around 80% of them are one click and gone. 2 out of 10 stay around and look.

So far, all this clicking hasn’t translated into many orders, but I believe it will. I usually visit a site several times before I actually pull out my credit card, and others probably do too. In the meantime, watching all these clicks and charts is keeping me entertained, if not busy! And as we hurtle towards Christmas day, remember that if you want to order a sleeve, do it before December 15 if you want to make sure it arrives on time. I might be amazing but I can’t yet work miracles!  🙂

Blessings,  sleevemom  (there’s another returning visitor—YES!  🙂

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, This-n-that. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

