Back to business

The last few posts have been part cooking show, part travelogue, part holiday special. I now return you to the original intent of this blog–documenting the beginnings and growth of www.youregettingwarmer.com.

Connie and I have spent the last 3 Wednesdays at the Leesport Farmer’s Market. The results have been mixed. We have met a lot of great people, caught a glimpse of and been warmly welcomed into a vendor community that we didn’t even know existed, sold sleeves to a few people and had a chance to market to others. Sales have not been what we had hoped, but all the vendors say that sales have gotten much worse over the last few years, and that they are not very good right now.

In the photo above, we had a celebrity sighting and Connie got a photo op! (Laura was the model for several of our website and brochure photos–thanks for stopping by, Laura!) And this also gives you a good look at our indoor booth and the pvc sleeve stands my husband, Mike made for us.

So I am always on the lookout for good marketing opportunities, online and locally.

Today and tomorrow will be spent working on getting gift certificate capabilities on the website (done), installing a hit counter on the website so I can track how many times people are visiting it (done), working on website wordsearch optimization–something I will have to learn about before I can do, photographing and uploading the plain colors I have available onto the “fabrics” page of the site, sorting out the business finances from the last few weeks, exploring the possibility of offering a Sleeve pattern for sale and researching the possibility of advertising online, what and where and when. Oh, and since Carbonite online backup has finished its several day task of downloading my old computer info onto my new computer, I need to figure out where all my files got put and put them where I know where they are. Fun! not…  🙂 (Did I mention how much I hate switching operating systems?) 

This part is not exciting or fun or even really blog-worthy, except that I am keeping you up with what it takes to start/run a business. So…with that, I’d better step away from the computer, pick up my camera, and get outside while the sun is shining, as I search for the lighting that will reproduce the fleece fabric’s colors the best. Brr-rr…

And in case you are interested, one of the best ways you could spread the word is to “Like” my You’re Getting Warmer business facebook page. That way the things I add to it will show up on your wall and all YOUR friends will have a chance to see it and “like” it too! Thanks!

Later…

sleevemom

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business, You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

