Sleeve/Snuggie comparison

When you are describing something that no one has ever seen before, you have to compare it to something that has been seen. And since the Snuggie can certainly be classed in that category, (how do you spell “marketing”?) it has come into conversations occasionally. I am not competing with the Snuggie, because the Sleeve is very different, but I have thought that the phrase “Just sleeves, for when you don’t need a blanket” describes what I make fairly well. (A fleece “shrug” helps some people visualize it, too. But not everyone knows what a shrug is, either)

I have a friend who gave her take on the differences.

“I have both the Bookworm Sleeve and the Snuggie.  It is not even fair to compare them. The Snuggie is very thin so I need a little blanket over it to keep warm. It is difficult to find the sleeves to get into it. Then they need to be folded back because they are very long. It droops and does not stay up around the neck and does not cover the top of my back that is exposed. It is too long so I cannot walk with it.

“With the Bookworm Sleeve I can sit and read. It is made of a warm material and keeps my back and shoulders comfortable.  I can also work on the computer wearing it.

“Another thing I like is that I can keep a check on food in the kitchen. I can stir food easily because it is not in the way and food does not get on it.

“It is neat and attractive enough that I can go to the door wearing it without looking like I am wearing a robe or wrapped in a blanket.

“I have had mine for almost a year and in the cooler months I have gotten a lot of use from it. In fact, I plan to buy one for my daughter for Christmas to use at her office.

“There is no way I would choose the Snuggie over the Sleeve.”

So there you have it, folks! Alike: both are born of a desire to be warm and comfortable. Different: they go about it two very different ways. Feel free to do your own comparison…I think by now most homes in America have one of the other ones hanging around somewhere!  🙂 And remember, if you have any marketing ideas, let me know. If I use them, there is a free sleeve in it for you!

Go be warm!  (visit  www.youregettingwarmer.com if you want more info)

Sleevemom

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleeve/Snuggie comparison

  1. Linda Granato says:

    Love this piece! It ought to spark some great attention! I’m going to put share so whoever you don’t have on your FB friend list that i have on mine will see it! I’m leaning toward purchasing but will probably have to wait till after Christmas. I loved the one you were wearing at the teen girls seminar! At the time, though, didn’t know you made it yourself. Would have asked about it then! I wish you well with these. 🙂

  2. 2monkeysmama says:

    Have you thought of marketing your sleeves to knitting/quilting websites or local stores? They look like they would be wonderful for doing handwork on the cold winter nights that are coming!

    • sleevemom says:

      Thought of it, but currently, because each sleeve is custom made and fitted, and because our profit margin is so low (since they are handmade here and not overseas 🙂 wholesale sales are not going to happen, for now anyway. But thanks for your thoughts.
      Linda aka Sleevemom

  3. Pingback: They are Always Cold | The Next Half

Leave a Reply

