Mental gridlock

I love the story in Mary Hood’s book “The Relaxed Homeschooler” about a conversation with her young daughter, who wanted to write a letter.

“Mommy, can I write a letter to Sophia?”

“Sure, honey. I’ll be glad to help.”

“What should I say?”

“How about starting with “Dear Sophia…”

“Okey, how you spell “dear”?

“D-e…”

“Wait! Wait! How do you make a d?”

That is how I have been feeling this week. “I want to start a business.” OK, what do I do first? I have to get a website going. But before I can do that, I have to know what to put on it. And how it is to be arranged. But before I can start arranging it, I have to figure out this software. Wait! Wait! What is an anchor? And how does the link thingy work? And HOW to I get that “table” to move to the right just a teensie weensie little bit? Argh-h-h-h-!

Everything I set out to do falls back to something else I have to do first, and when I start that, something else that needs done first pops up. So everything needs done all at once, immediately! I am tired….  🙂

No, I am not complaining–I am venting. (There’s a difference. Really. Ask any female…)

One of the things that makes women so effective at starting small businesses is their ability to multi-task. Or so I read in an article by Mike Michalowicz. So I should be an expert in that field. But just once, wouldn’t it be nice if something was simple? Ok, I guess if it was simple, everyone would be doing it, and then there would be no reason for me to do it.

I feel better now, so…back to the races…and how is your day going?

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How to start a business. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

