Day 1 of 18,250

If you could do anything you wanted with your life, what would you do?

I have known the answer to that question for some time, but have been waiting for the right time to do it. And now is that time! Most of life’s major choices have been made. Career, marriage partner; how many children; how to raise them; where will they go to college; how will we pay for college 🙂 etc. At each stage, I have been privileged to design my life so that it fit my aptitudes and interests. But I am in a new stage now, with new parameters and new challenges. And since I have turned the corner on 50 and plan to live to 100, I am ready to start the next half.

Last week I finished out a job that I definitely had a love/hate relationship with. I loved the people, enjoyed the challenges for the most part, but do not prefer to be an employee. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my boss and learned a great deal in my 3 1/2 years there, and the job came along when we really needed it to fill in for a time. And I understand the need for employers–I know that most people are not like me.  But I do not think like an employee, I do not work like an employee. I don’t like standard hours. I don’t like doing the same thing over and over, especially if the “why” seems arbitrary and illogical. I am too lazy to do things the hard way–I enjoy figuring out better and more efficient methods and systems. I am a task person. Give me a task and I will do whatever it takes to complete it. And at the end of the day (or often the early hours of the morning), the satisfaction of not only completing the task but improving the system is rewarding to me. Having had two previous businesses, I know what it takes and I still prefer it.

So this is the first week of starting over, and I will blog my progress, my successes (and failures–gotta have some of those…) and hopefully get some ideas and input from others who have done or are doing the same thing. And maybe inspire you to move in the direction of your dream, whatever it may be. I will blog about the business, my life, silly things and serious things, my other passions–motherhood, mentoring, joy, friendships, growing people and things–and anything else that catches my fancy.

So, here’s to the journey. Hope you will come along with me…and oh, in case you’ve never met me, I will be the one with the silly grin on my face!

About Linda

I am a learner. A teacher. A questioner. A lover of nature and of the big picture of life. Why and how and what if are questions that I constantly ask, since I am too lazy to do things the hard way and too out-of-the-box to do them the way they have always been done! I love growing things, building things and helping people define and reach their goals.
This entry was posted in How I see it, You're Getting Warmer. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 1 of 18,250

  1. Katie Sigsworth says:

    Oh I love how you write. I am not a interesting writer but I am so at the same point in my life. Haven’t quite gotten the courage to quit work but do have a love hate relationship with it because of the same restrictions you mentioned. I love to be organized and my most prized possession is a labeling machine which I use all the time. My husband jokes that he has to keep moving or I will label him. So anyway I will greatly enjoy your journey with you.

  2. Mother says:

    Oh Linda! You are so good at so many things. It is a joy to watch you bloom once again. I’m proud to be your Mother!

  3. Kathy Hardy says:

    It will be a joy to watch you over the next 18,000+ days, and all because you asked me to join you in a book club!

  4. Miss Katie says:

    GO GIRL, will be excited to see how it happens!!

  5. Johnnie Lorren says:

    I felt like I was reading about myself on the “work experiences” part…..lt’s been fun watching this butterfly emerge – go for it – I LOVE my warm snuggler!!!!! Wish I was closer, I’d help you stitch! JL

  6. Pingback: One Year Down and Nine to Go! | The Next Half

Leave a comment